top of page

Bad Knees Blog - Take 24


I couldn't find a suitable image, so here's another old painting of mine - Cat

Last week I got a phone call from David, a friend of a high school classmate. David had been following my bad knees adventure. We talked about two of my favorite subjects, knees and stem cell therapy. It turns out that, at 54, David's knees may need some help. Anyway, he asked me if the clinic had done a follow-up x-ray or MRI to look for improvement in my knee. It's an important question. They haven't,and I don't think it's something they do routinely, if at all. A recent article in the New York Times noted that this is a major problem with stem cell treatments. There simply isn't enough research to "prove" that it's effective. I acknowledge this fact, even though I've spent a lot of money on my own stem cell therapy.

So, does it work? I'm convinced that there is compelling evidence that it does. Sure, more needs to be done, and the process has to be perfected, but I believe we'll get there. But here is the more important question (at least for me at this moment): Is it working for me?

The answer is, I don't know. This process has included too many components to know for sure what's making the difference. I've had enriched platelets, prolotherapy, physical therapy, heat therapy, numerous supplements, and a careful diet that has severely restricted alcohol and eliminated nsaids. Even so, whatever the causes, something is making a difference. I covered a lot of the charges in my earlier posts, so I won't go over that again, but I continue to improve. Early last week Cindy and I spent three days with our son and his wife. We walked miles around Saratoga Springs, Troy, and Ballston Spa on one day (Like Roosevelt, I partook of the healing spring waters - not very palatable). On the next, we toured Cooperstown, including their brilliant non-baseball museum, and the incredible Ommegang Brewery. Then we met an old friend, a physician in Cooperstown, who took us on a not tourist "walkabout". Even a month ago, I would not have been able to walk those miles. What's more,I'm still putting a lot of miles on these knees at home in Buffalo.

Then, today I got back on my "beloved "Bianchi road bike and hit the streets. I hadn't ridden it for more than a year. It felt great. It's bright orange, light, and fast, and I've missed it.

That's where things stand. I may ask my doctor about follow-up x-rays, but I don't know if it's that important. For now, I'll stay the course and keep you posted.

Be good, and be happy.

Ralph


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page